April 19, 2016

More About Me

by Michael Frimmel (author's profile)


I first typed this back in 2013 when we had word processors.


I was born October 2, 1968, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. At present, I am 45 years old.

When I was about 30, I was confronted with overwhelming stress stemming from many different situations in my life at that time. I started drinking alcohol as a coping mechanism. I was married for nearly 10 years, and now that was failing too. Around the same time, I had lost my job and my father was dying from cancer. My drinking escalated and my troubles increased. The next step for me was self-medicating with pain killers. Shortly after my father passed away, my wife had left me, I was out of work and I found myself using poor judgment and irrational thinking.

Here I am after that onset of trouble began. Now, 15 years and a couple of prison terms later, somewhere in the middle of the desert, and away from all of my family and loved ones, I am broken.

At least I was!

I have been incarcerated here in the Nevada Department of Corrections since 2008 serving a prison sentence of 10 years to life. When I first entered the system this time, five years ago, I was so used up and mentally exhausted. I realized that I must make changes and rebuild myself from the inside out. This is what I have done.

I voluntarily entered the Oasis Therapeutic Community Program at Southern Desert Correctional Center. At first, I did not meet the criteria because of the length of my sentence. However, I was very convincing and determined to be a positive influence within the program. My case manager at the time accepted my sincerity, and I was enrolled into the long term program with a projected completion date of 18 months.

Program started date: April 2010.
I graduated the program December 7, 2011 (see attached certificates).

Today is December 2013. I continue to be an active member in the therapeutic community. Throughout the program, I completed different challenging phases:

Phase I:
Intake, probation, orientation, and initiation

Phase II:
Resocialization, treatment, and recovery

Phase III:
Transition and reintegration

Level III.5 intensive long term residential (evidence based)

Upon graduating the program, I was given the option of moving on somewhere else within the program (non-programming unit) or I could enter the aftercare phase of the program. I chose to continue in the program. I graduated the aftercare phase on August 17, 2012 (see attached certificates).

It's now December 2012, and I have been working on changing everything about myself, my character, and my way of thinking. Refining positive social interaction and good habits along with responsibility.

Total program time completed: 3 1/2 years or 42 months, and going.

I am currently still in the residential program as a mentor, big brother, and positive role model. This program is recognized by the state of Nevada. The Nevada Department of Corrections (parole board), the director of prisons, the director of programs, as well as the various wardens within the system. It is a nationwide program model in use with the Department of Justice.

I have a good sense of humor.
I am respectful of others.
I treat people the same way I like to be treated.
I am open-minded, get along great with others from all walks of life.
I like to share my personal experiences with people, especially if I know that it will benefit them in the same way.
I am always positive and optimistic in life, no matter how grave the situation.
I am a responsible, kind, and caring man.
I strive for independence.

My heritage
Relationships with family members
Having a stable place to live
Good friends that I can count on
Keeping a clear mind and conscience
Physical fitness, staying out of trouble
Living true to my values, freedom, and trustworthiness

I work with leadership and confidence.
I work well with others.
Resourcefulness. I consider facts carefully and gather new information.
I like taking the initiative, having ambition, and using persistence in reaching goals.
I am consistent in my actions, therefore I am reliable.
I don't make promises that I cannot fulfill.
When making commitments, I follow through with the expectation that others will do the same.
I can only be accountable for myself.
People working together can accomplish more than working alone.

I am a high school graduate of Delaware Valley High School. Class of '86, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

I completed the carpentry and building maintenance course from the Orleans Technical Institute in Philadelphia shortly thereafter.

For a few years following, I worked as an independent contractor building and refurbishing equestrian centers, barns, and horse stables all over the tri-state area (NY, NJ, PA). I worked for a couple of years building new homes at high elevations of the Pocono Mountains, laing the foundations to finishing carpentry, including interior and exterior roofing, tilling, and painting.

Following that experience, I moved to a town by the ocean (Ventor, New Jersey, 1990). My love of life is the ocean. I involved myself with boats and the seafood industry. I worked at the Farley State Marina, also known as Trump Marina, hotel and casino. I was a self-employed boat detailer. Started from the bottom and worked way up to bigger and better things. By the end of that year, I was well known in the Marina, had a name for myself, and was well-liked.

My familiarity with boats turned into working knowledge of sports fishing yachts. Then to commercial fishing vessels to 150 ft. in length. A little over ten years in the boating industry, I acquired the following skills: first mate, engineering and ship electronic systems, aids to navigation, storm systems, communications, survival techniques, CPR, hypothermics, PFDs (personal floatation devices).

Computer software applications
Microsoft Office Suite: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Tools
Microsoft Windows 7: tools, maintenance and accesories
Typing 35+ WPM

The last time I had a disciplinary report was over two years ago. The rule violation was misuse of supplies. I had cleaning supplies left in my personal area. This was a low-level, minor infraction. I received a verbal warning.

I am out of my element here. There are few like me in this environment. I have morals.

I do my best to be the best person I can be all the time. I attend school here 20+ hours per week. Independent studies.

I am enrolled in the following classes five days per week: business management, entrepreneurship, and advanced computer skills.

I have not been denied for parole. I am managing as well as can be expected considering where I am. I have goals and aspirations for the near future and distant future. For now, I'm awaiting to see about restructuring my sentence through the appelate process.

There are other ways too, such as the pardons board, motion for modification of sentence, motion for reconsideration. All of which I need an advocate for assistance, pro bono counsel, etc. I cannot do it alone.

I just want you to know that I am a good person with a good heart. I am intelligent. I have made a few mistakes in my life. I am not some hardened criminal. I love people. I am an animal rights activist and want the world to be a better place. Anything that has positive energy is what I see. I don't belong in a prison.

I am grateful for the people who count on me, love me, and are pulling for me.

I hope I have provided enough information. Rachel A, special thanks to you. And to the Aleph Institute.

Please stay in touch with me,
Michael A. Frimmel

Contract information for transfer:

Nevada Department of Corrections
Offender Management Division
Post Office Box 7011
Carson City, Nevada 89702-711
(775) 887-3340

Lovelock Correctional Center
1200 Prison Road
Lovelock, Nevada 89419
(775) 688-1777

Southern Desert Correctional Center
Post Office Box 208
Indian Springs, Nevada 89070
Contact Ms. Spell (702) 879-3800

My current address as of April 2016 is:

Ely State Prison
PO Box 1989
Ely, NV 89301
Michale Frimmel #87079

Email through accesscorrections.com website or use

Send me an email or snail mail, any way you prefer. I will reply to everyone. I am always wanting comments, questions, advice, mentors, inspiration, prayer, influential people, pen pals, new friends, potential relationships, letters, donations, assistance (legal), educational assistance, guidance, leadership. Help me expand my network!

Thank you.


Replies Replies feed

We will print and mail your reply by . Guidelines

Other posts by this author


Get notifications when new letters or replies are posted!

Posts by Michael Frimmel: RSS email me
Comments on “More About Me”: RSS email me
Featured posts: RSS email me
All Between the Bars posts: RSS